Young people are often influenced in their behaviours and situations by others in the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

It is true that peer pressure has been a phenomenon, defining the influence of young people on their friends of the same age. In my view, its disadvantages do not outweigh the advantages. To begin with, peer pressure brings numerous disadvantages. One of the undeniable reasons is the career comparison among people, which became popular nowadays. The fact that some could become successful early and others may not due to the difference in their chosen majors; therefore, having a career compared is not a good idea that might get us uncomfortable. A good example of this is the rate of depression in the youth, some feel stressed out while being involved in comparing with others’ success. In addition, young people could copy the bad habits of churlish friends such as smoking or drinking wine too much; from that, effecting negatively on their health. Despite having limitations, peer pressure actually has some significant benefits, which would be a good friendship. It is true that everyone needs someone with whom to share happiness and sorrows. Furthermore, young persons can learn vital skills such as leadership or good communication by encouraging each other. Therefore, it is a great way to help in sorting out difficulties in their life and develop their career together. This is particularly the case for the Nobel prize, many people working together to achieve the title is better than acting alone. In short, I advocate that although peer pressure has both pros and cons, we should consider its advantages to live comfortably while eliminating any unnecessary limitations with no doubt.