In many countries plastic bags are main source of rubbish causing pollution in oceans and on land therefore they should be banned . To what extent do you agree or disagree

Plastic has been a major threat to the environment even till today. Many people especially environmentalists are requesting to ban polythene bags. I completely agree with this statement, and I hereby provide valuable points in support. Firstly, Plastic is used all over the world causing ocean and land pollution. It causes threats to the aquatic as well as animals living on the land. For example, in the case of marine animals such as fish and sea birds this plastic might lead to suffocation. The plastic wastes are thrown everywhere leading to piled-up landfills. It can affect abandoned animals on land by swallowing polythene covers that may contain food. Moreover, these plastic bags take years to decompose and release chemical substances into the soil leading to soil pollution and also preventing the sunlight from reaching the soil. The Government and each individual have to take responsibility for preventing plastic bags. People should stop using plastic bags and instead use paper bags, as a result, does not contaminate the environment. Authorities should encourage the production of recyclable covers as one way to avoid pollution. Awareness camps, strict laws and rules should be held to prevent waste. In conclusion, the Plastic ban should come into immediate effect by spreading awareness of the disadvantages among people to protect our oceans and land from getting polluted.