some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime .Others,however ,argue that the circumstances of an individual crime,and the motivation for committing it,should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A section of society is of the opinion that offenders should be given the same punishments. However,others oppose that situations surrounding the offence should be taken into consideration before punishing an individual.I agree with the latter because taking individual misconduct into account helps bring about fairness and transparency. This essay will discuss both sides of the arguments as well as my stances in the subsequent paragraphs with examples. To begin with,one of the most compelling reasons offenders should be given similar punishments is to serve as a deterrent to lawbreakers.If criminals are given equal punishment,it prevents wrongdoers from committing lawlessness. Therefore,reducing the atrocity rate in society. For example,In Ghana,the percentage of offences has reduced drastically as a result of punishers being given similar punishments. On the other hand,some schools of thought and I are of the view that offenders should be punished based on the type of violation they committed to ensure justice and transparency.An individual will steal a pen and the other will steal a car and if both are punished the same then it is unfair to the government. Hence punishers should be punished based on the severity of the misconduct for the law to be fair to all citizens. For instance,Mr Ekow committed murder and was given life imprisonment. Conversely,Issifu stole a cow and was given 2 years imprisonment. This ensures justice for the crime they committed In conclusion,some parts of the community opine that criminals should be punished equally to stop others from committing an atrocity whilst others and I concord that an individual should be punished separately based on the severity of the offence to bring about transparency and impartiality.