Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the modern lifestyle, some children engage in their smartphones for whole days. There are several reasons in relation to this behaviour, which should be considered. In my opinion, although it would be both positive and negative consequences, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Involving young people in their cellphones has various reasons these days. Firstly, sometimes they don’t have other options because of working parents that do not have any free time for physical activities. Secondly, due to the new school curriculum, many assignments and extracurricular activities are done by digital devices like smartphones so they have to do their homework with these kinds of devices. Finally, online games nowadays are more popular among juveniles, and because of the interesting nature of these entertainments children often stick to the screen and lose time spent. There are numerous effects of this behaviour on children’s lives that must be considered. A variety of gaming apps have problem-solving approaches that may help to develop cognitive and intellectual skills in adolescents. Furthermore, they can improve their educational level by studying free online resources such as YouTube tutorials and the Udemy website. On the other hand, lack of physical activity and a sedentary lifestyle may lead to obesity, which is harmful to youngsters’ health. In addition, aggressive behaviour can stem from a lack of peer interaction and loneliness while they only focus on the screen for a long time. In conclusion, children overspend time on their smartphones which must be considered by parents. While this behaviour has its own benefits and it can promote some mental skills, it would lead to health problems and bad behaviour.