Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, plastic carrier usage has increased at an alarming rate. whilst some people and I hold the view that plastic shopping bags should be outlawed because they have deleterious effects on the environment. In addition, the Oceans’ marine life has borne the brunt of drawbacks caused by their disposal. My contention will be further explained. Embark, plastic bags have a negative impact on the habitat because they are non-biodegradable. In other words, when these bags are buried in the soil or even thrown into the ocean and wild animals eat them, plastic will enter the food chain causing different issues or even death. For example, a hungry turtle may be mistaken transparent plastic bags for a jellyfish and eat it, the turtle will choke on the plastic as it cannot digest it, and die painfully. Hence, what can be said is that these types of carriers maybe take hundreds of years to decompose into pieces. Moreover, plastic bags contain toxic chemical elements that will negatively affect the air when burnt. This means that if these harmful by-products are released into the air and inhaled by people, they will result in many lethal diseases such as cancer. A prime example of this is research conducted by the World Health Organization revealed that a plethora of Chinese people had lung cancer due to air pollution. Thus, plastic bags not only affect the air but also have a detrimental impact on the soil’s fertility resulting in a reduction in crops’ yield. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the above-mentioned points, it can be reiterated that bags made of plastic should be completely banned. Therefore, I am convinced that the government should legislate the laws that prohibited the usage of these packs.