To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

It is undeniable that requiring for food had increased dramatically for supporting people throughout the world. However, insect products are one of the alternate ways as a food source, while it is argued by others that can damage their fitness and the environment. This essay will provide both views before elaborating on the samplers. Owning the fact consuming insects has several advantages and cannot be denied. One evidence is that these cuisines are a source of protein because their body consists mainly of protein, especially bamboo caterpillar. In addition, they are popular in some countries that are placed in the tropical zone, not only for the high protein but also for a cheap price. Due to almost all insects being easy to find and encounter throughout the year, they set prices cheaper than others. For instance, a number of grasshoppers are not expensive in Cambodia. All in all, insects are one of the selective choices for consumption. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to bugs. Firstly, it will destroy the ecology because humans gain benefit from some types of bugs, when they disappear from nature, the environment is affected directly. At this point, some plants will pass away in order to the loss of diversity of insects. In addition, most insects lack some nutrition due to their body being contained less complex chemicals than others. To illustrate, although silkworms have a lot of protein, they have fewer vitamins than fruits. In conclusion, despite this small animal should use edible sources of food, they will have two sides. Hence, we should recognize the benefits and drawbacks of consuming and impacting other aspects.