Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about whether scientific studies should be conducted by government or individual corporation. While someone may disagree, I believe that government should be responsible for scientific study. Several reasons are put in place why government should take charge of the research. First of all, it can be safe when a dangerous technology is developed by government. For example, if private corporations can take part in the development of nuclear weapons, it is extremely dangerous and they may sold weapons to others in terms of benefits while ignore the outcome it may bring to the society. Secondly, the money spent by government mainly comes from the taxes. Therefore, it is possible for every citizens to enjoy the advantages of a novel science finding. If it is carried out by companies, only the rich can have the chance to benefit from it. Nevertheless, I would have to agree that there are also some benefits when scientific studies are carried out by personal companies. The main advantage may be that a useful scientific result can make direct profits so that more job opportunities is given to not only scientists but also oridinary people. Since a company also need people who take charge of sale or other supports. What is more, it is more efficient to conduct a reseach program by companies. Less money can be wasted and more finding may be obtained through a large investment. In conclusion, although there are some benefits for carrying out research programs by companies, I believe it is better for government to take the responsibility of scientific research.