Some people think that secondary/high school students should study literature (e.g. novels, plays, poetry) only from their own country. Others say it is more important for students to study literature from all over the world. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is reasonable debate over whether it is preferable to teach secondary school students only about national literature rather than teaching them about a broad range of literature from all around the world. This essay examines a number of valid reasons for both perspectives and outlines my belief that while national literature is essential, world literature imparts a more robust perspective. There are numerous reasons why teaching national literature is essential. Firstly, young people enjoy learning about their own, familiar culture, which is also appealing to educators and parents who can impart first -hand knowledge. In New Zealand for instance, students must read "Whale Rider" by Witi Ihimaera, and they can learn about Maori culture and imagine familiar landscapes and characters. Whatsmore, reading about national literature, especially stories by indigenous people teaches young folks to respect the traditional owners of the land and to embrace indigenous cultures. On the other hand, international literature is much more varied and gives youngsters a broader perspective on society. It is widely accepted that reading stories about foreign cultures makes people less biased and more accepting. A New Zealand student, for instance, would gain from reading Asian or African stories. There are universal ideas to be found across stories from all times and cultures, from Chaucer to Ishiguro. Love, they say, knows no bounds! I believe it is fundamental to encourage teens to read about other ways of life so that they learn to assess foreign cultures with an open mind. In summary, learning about the literature of your homeland is vital, however this perspective is, by nature, limited. Global literature is a vastly deeper and more multifaceted subject. Therefore, teaching teens about global literature is essential to create open-minded and tolerant attitudes.