Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

In recent days, science has become a less popular subject in universities in most countries. Many suggest that this is because of the difficulty of learning and the lack of working opportunities in some countries. While other believe that this problem can reduce the number of scientists in the field and unsolved scientific issues in the long run. To begin with, one of the reasons for this issue is that science lessons can be complicated and hard for students to learn. Some people find that science modules such as chemistry and physics are not easy to resolve due to the complexity of the studies. For example, Indonesian students tend to avoid choosing physics modules because of the difficulties of the homework and exams, also if they fail it can affect all of the subjects in one term. As a result, avoiding science subjects will prevent students from failing in their education. In addition, students also think that less working opportunities for people who graduate from science subjects due to the majority of laboratories only requiring a small group of people to work on the same project. Consequently, science is not a popular subject for students to choose in university institutions because of this reason. However, by lack of science students can damage the number of coming scientists in the future. The reason is it there will be fewer scientists to conduct research to improve our living conditions and new innovations. For instance, the possibility of exploring a new planet for living will be impossible in the forthcoming due to no scientists who can work to complete the task. Additionally, the other drawback will be a growing number of unsolved scientific issues because researchers will not be available to solve the new issues which will disadvantage prospective generations. In conclusion, science subjects are not the favourite among students due to the difficulty of the lesson and fewer working opportunities for recruitment after graduation. Moreover, this issue can bring drawbacks to our future in the long run due to the unavailability of scientists in the future.