Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Teenagers are the most valuable asset of any country because they have more free time for contributing to society. Though the idea of using them in social work is good, millennials of the current teenage generation do not perform well under the mandate of regulatory bodies. In my perception, I do not agree with the statement because, despite having some advantages, there are plenty of disadvantages that could result from forcing them. The energetic, explorative, and creative youth can introduce and implement innovative solutions to social problems. Working with the common man in the streets, they will gain first -hand experience, which would build empathy towards the general public. Statistics show that people who have undergone a 2-year post-study voluntary service in the forces have a higher employability rate and lower crime rate. Therefore, one might think that compulsory unpaid community work will benefit the individual and society. Though we have seen benefits in past generations, the current generation of teens is different; they value their freedom and seek a purpose for all their actions. So, rather than a mandated job, which will demotivate and build frustration, it is of utmost importance to attract them to community services. Non-profit organizations, clubs, and societies can do a lot and enable them to contribute to society while spending time on an area of their interest. In addition, introducing a framework that could add merit to those who have worked without getting paid may make them feel good about their contributions, even after decades. In summary, I have highlighted the benefits and drawbacks of mandatory unpaid work for teenagers. In my opinion, if we implement systems to facilitate and encourage the youth toward social services, we will get the best results. In conclusion, I disagree with forcing teenagers to work for free and recommend motivating them to volunteer.