There have been many inventions in human history, such as the wheel. Some people think the most important thing is the internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The topic revolving around whether the most significant innovation of humankind is the multitudinous inventions humans have come up with throughout history or the Internet has given rise to heated debates. Personally, I would contend that the benefits of the Internet are undeniable, yet, that of other inventions is of equal importance. Admittedly, the Internet is justifiable to be regarded as the most significant invention of mankind given its contribution to different aspects of life. Firstly, thanks to advanced technology, a person's work and study are facilitated due to access to unrestricted sources of knowledge. To clarify, information related to various fields is freely shared, boosting efficiency in one's work as well as economic growth. Moreover, the enlargement of networks and circles of friends has become irrefutably effective by substituting the old-fashioned and time-consuming methods such as posts and letters with online-based communication tools like Facebook, thus making the world more connected. Nonetheless, there still exist other impactful innovations that are of tantamount importance, which revolutionized the world. As an illustration, the advent of the printing press helped to mass-produce printed mediums such as papers and books, granting humans from all walks of life the ability to acquire and transfer knowledge. As a result, wisdom can be passed down from one generation to another, creating a well-informed society high in the intelligentsia. Another outstanding pivotal invention must also be vaccines, a giant step in the field of healthcare. To clarify, the first antibiotics were created by Edward Jenner to save millions of lives from the smallpox outbreak, laying a foundation for the later medical breakthroughs. Hence, compared with the above-listed inventions, the Internet's contribution is trivial despite its leading to spectacular alterations and our ever-changing world. To encapsulate, there is no denying that the Internet is a leap for humankind. However, I am convinced that the importance of such an innovation would be outweighed by the discoveries originating far in the past.