In some culture, children are being told that they can achieve anything if they work hard. What are advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There are customs in the world today that encourage teenagers to put extra effort into their daily duties so as to be very pro0ductive. In this essay, I will be looking at the pros and cons of this practice. To begin with, children are meant to be taken care of and directed and such as made most societies tell them to work extra hard to meet their set goals, this practice has numerous benefits on the life of the child. Firstly, it serves as a form of motivation for the self-esteem of the individual. For example, in the Nigerian Children Football League, the kids from Bayelsa state were motivated by their coach to put in extra work in their training session so as to quali8fy for the championship, despite them losing their pre-season games, this simple act of encouragement from their leader boosted their morale and brought them to the final stage resulting to them winning the trophy. Secondly, it prepares young ones for the challenges that life brings to them as they grow older. For instance, the Boys’ Scout Children organization over the years in Ghana has recruited children who are now world-class leaders and given credit to the association for putting the mentality of working hard in them which has led to them being very successful in life. However, irrespective of the numerous advantages this practice brings to the life of the child, it also has some negative effects which include bringing depression and frustration to the mental health of the teenager. A case scenario is Vardy who was encouraged to read his books more to achieve good grades to get a scholarship; he studied as instructed but still did not get the needed score to get the promotion which resulted in him being depressed and committing suicide. To conclude, motivating young ones is an integral part of their dev elopement as it builds both their self-esteem and courage. Despite the merits of this practice, guardians are to also be mindful of its demerits so as not to ruin the life of the little one.