Some people say that computer skills should be added to primary subjects in elementary school such as reading, writing and math. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is said that computer skills are advised to be taught in the same way as basic subjects such as reading, writing, and math in elementary school. This essay completely agrees with the statement for 2 reasons. To begin with, computer skills may have a big effect on children's mindset by learning crucial thinking from a young age. This is to say that skills like programming help pupils to be taught problem-solving and critical thinking, which may have a positive effect on a child`s academic performance. For instance, children of private schools have already been studying basic computer knowledge from the first grade, and as a result, they show high learning achievements from primary school. Moreover, reading and math skills could be developed faster and more effectively with programming because skills of research and analysis are the key things that would be taught in computer learning subjects. Turning to the second reason is the advantage of early learning. To explain, children around 6-7 years old are more capable of learning things fast, which makes them more competitive in comparison with teenagers, who start to learn computer skills in 8-9 grade. For example, the Range of robotics competitions was implemented by the Minister of Education in Kazakhstan 2 years ago, and the first 2 places were consistently occupied by IT schools, where students of 7 grades were taught computer skills from the third grade. In addition, students from IT schools are more open in their choice of profession due to their early experience and high achievements in the field of programming. In conclusion, computer science is highly recommended to be added to the elementary school program along with the main subjects, that assist children in developing critical thinking and give a great boost in the future. Therefore, I believe that introducing computing would be a great possibility to improve the education of the country.