In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst younger generations. Why is this happening? Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

Recently, youth have adopted the trend of second -hand clothing. While the main reason for this is the dire economic situation which youngsters endeavour nowadays, I am of the belief that this is a positive development on the grounds as it helps convert waste into reusable material. To start with, the main theme of this age is its financial dilemmas as the prices have skyrocketed, and the salaries have plummeted deeply. In other words, when yesterday's price tags are compared to today's ones, an enormous gap manifests clearly. For example, the wages which a young man used to earn in the past allowed him to buy triple the items that he can afford in the present. Therefore, not only has youth's income declined, but their expenses have also risen. Moreover, I deem this change to be merit because it allows people to have greener Earth, and has reduced pollution. That is to say that if all costumes were to be worn by the original owner and then disposed of, there would be piles and piles of unneeded cloth refuse. For instance, the UK has reported that back in 2002, the country's cloth waste mass was measured to be more than three thousand tons. Hence, what can be said is that this tendency has left the planet cleaner. In conclusion, after this essay has shown the above points, it can be claimed that currently, young people have resolved to wear second -hand items. Whilst the monetary consideration is the prime reason for that, I believe that this is a positive development because it aids the recycling process.