In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Driverless cars would become more and more popular due to the rapid development of technology, and all travellers in the car would be passengers in the future. However, I believe that the advantages of driverless cars do not outweigh their disadvantages. Using driverless cars could be beneficial, as such vehicles could achieve a higher transport efficiency. This kind of vehicle can operate automatically without a drive, so there could be more space for passengers and luggage, which may help to increase the efficiency of transportation. Also, drivers may need to take a rest after driving for a long period of time continuously, while the computers are always energetic. As a result, those driverless vehicles could be more efficient than traditional cars with drivers, as computers can work continuously for a long time without being tired. However, the usage of driverless technology may cause some serious problems. Those automatic technologies could be not so reliable, as they could break down and stop operating at any time. For example, this driverless car is being driven at a high speed, while the computer system suddenly fails to work. A possible outcome of this technical breakdown is that this car would stop immediately, which situation is very dangerous for both passengers in the car and vehicles driving on the same road. Another problem is that the rapid increase in the number of driverless cars would cause mass unemployment of drivers, as their workplaces are replaced by computers. If the push for autonomous vehicles leads to the jobless of bus or truck drivers, it is likely that they may resort to violence to express their dissatisfaction, which could be harmful to society. Overall, it is reasonable that driverless vehicles may have some advantages, while the shortcomings of automatic cars outweigh their benefits.