In some countries, secondary schools provide students with an opportunity to learn skills such as cooking, basic repairs, drawing and woodwork. What are the advantages and disadvantages of teaching such non-academic classes in school?

It is a controversial issue about secondary education whether teaching non-cognitive skills are essential or not for students. In my point of view of this issue, it has merits and demerits. One advantage of acquiring practical techniques is often useful in case of emergency. Especially, in terms of a big-scale earthquake would occur, people are forced to live by themselves not relying on top-notch home appliances and technologies. In Japan, during Kobe Earthquake which occurred in 1995, over ten thousand people kept evacuating from their houses and living in a shelter for several weeks. In such inconvenient life situations, cooking, repairing and DIY which students used to learn in their secondary school would be helpful However, one of the main disadvantages of teaching practical skills in schools is affected on a shortage of labour force in the educational field. Teachers have to be familiar with these skills in addition to major academic subjects. According to an international investigation, it reports that some teachers overwork more than 100 hours in 1month caused their amount of work is too much, teaching classes, attending faculty meetings, and checking out each student’s homework. From thinking about the recent hard work, it does not make sense for teachers to prepare for the extra classes. In conclusion, learning about daily life skills through a class has positive and negative effects, but the importance of learning these skills would outweigh the disadvantages because of the development of the perception of reality in children. To reduce a teacher’s workload, it needs to collaborate with local communities and companies as an instructor instead of educational institutions. Creating new educational opportunities for students would broaden students ' knowledge and also improve teachers ' work-life balance.