Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, numerous universities have provided alternative face-to-face learning on campus which is called online courses. In my opinion, I strongly believe this development generates a great improvement. To begin with, offline learning obligates the students to come to campus every day and sometimes it takes a long time of preparation to commute, and this condition can lead to loss of focus and a waste of energy. For example, the survey conducted by KampusMerdeka, a student community in Indonesia, states that more than 70% of students who take classes on campus are having commuting problems because of the distance. Furthermore, most of them said that they have to wake up earlier, and prepare everything, and the worst part is that when they travel by public transportation, it is overcrowded because the time they go is the same as people who are coming to the office. As a result, many of them suffer and when they arrive at campus, they feel exhausted and the spirit to study is decreased. If the university implies online classes, the students will feel pleasant because it will reduce the effort and also save more time. On the other hand, by having an online learning system, students can have more time to explore beneficial things besides studying. For instance, Belinda Azzahra, the most outstanding student at the University of Indonesia, tells her story about how she can get a lot of internship opportunities during online studies. She said that she studies from morning to noon, and after lunch, until evening she starts working as an intern. Fortunately, the internship itself was also conducted remotely, so she could spare her time efficiently. In addition, after completing several internship experiences while also studying, before graduating, she gets many job offers from various companies. To sum up, online courses are undoubtedly a perfect alternative way for in-class learning. The benefits themselves are useful for students in order to be time -efficiency, reduce cost and energy, and motivate students to take steps to explore their passion and talent.