In Spite Of The Advances Made In Agriculture, Many People Still Go Hungry

As the world accelerates its journey toward technological advancements, cultivation is also making its progress in terms of new genetically engineered seeds, new techniques of land preparation and modern machinery. Still starvation is one of the major dilemmas mankind is facing, despite all the measures. In this essay, reasons for this progressing issue and solutions will be discussed. First of all, there is no equality in the distribution of world resources among different regions of the world and so is the food. To establish their power, rich countries always take more and destitute the poor countries even for their basic rights. For instance, a huge African continental area is devoid of rain for which there always is a deficiency of water and no crops or cultivation is possible. To resolve this issue, economically stable countries should provide the deprived nations with food necessities at cheaper and more affordable rates with fewer taxes for them. Secondly, advanced nations have kept their research and progress in the field of agriculture confined to themselves and they are not willing to share it with the rest of the world. Of course, this sharing of technology must not be at cost of their country’s own good but policies should be made while thinking on a broader spectrum to let the whole human race get benefit from this act of kindness. As an example, the Japanese are way ahead of the other world in genetic alteration of seeds but the technology is so costly that no average country can make it available for their people like them. Finally, world population growth has a disastrous impact on the limited resources of this planet. Increasing demand for housing to accommodate more people is resulting in the clearance of agricultural land and hence, low production of crops and in return the rising number of starved people. Only if suitable policies are made to cater for the population's outburst, food inadequacy can be taken care of. To sum up, the colossal issue of food shortage should be considered a global enigma and the prominent authorities around the world should join their hands to make better policies for food distribution strategy, extend the benefits of scientific progress to all and overcome population overgrowth and make the world a nicer place for all of humankind.