In most countries, prison is an effective solution to the problem of crime. Some people think it is a more effective solution to provide education for those who violate the law. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Worldwide, crime is continuously increasing and at present, putting criminals behind the bars is the only solution for correcting or punishing for their crimes. A few individuals are suggesting that knowledge could be the substitute for impressment for criminals. In my opinion, coaching the lawbreakers could be beneficial to some extent, and in this essay, I will highlight some aspects. First of all, the nature of the crime is the biggest issue, and people get prison punishment because of the seriousness of the offence, not for small wrongdoing. Also, citizens' safety is the utmost priority of any country's government which cannot be compromised for a person who is locked up, maybe for a heinous crime like murder, rape, or terrorism. Meanwhile, during the time of their sentences, further education can provide them, which not only contributes to changing their thinking pattern but also prepare them to adjust to society after release. In addition, education can help lawbreakers to become better human beings by showing the difference between good and bad choices. Nevertheless, it is not possible to educate each and every prisoner as to this requirement of money and resources, which is not feasible for poor or developing countries. Even so, some convicts do not understand that their crimes have a negative effect on people and society and educating them will be very difficult. In conclusion, education can help captives to understand their action and help to correct them, but along with this, they need counselling, soft skills and support from society.