In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving the children this message?

It is frequently believed that in some cultures, children who are often taught to try harder will eventually succeed in accomplishing many things. This essay will elaborate on the positive and negative effects that may appear during the process. To begin with, in most societies, cultivating competitive values toward children play a pivotal role in shaping the person they will become in the future. Considering this, it has been a normal phenomenon for parents to encourage children in performing their best. Although the implementation will not record an instant success, it is believed that the more practice the more perfect the outcomes. To illustrate, the children who participate in various competitions are more likely rewarded with prizes compared with those who have no attraction to join one. The established habit of putting in harder effort would enable children to gain better recognition and result in more chances in their life. On the other hand, expecting children to engage with something beyond their capabilities could produce disastrous effects on their development. Meanwhile, most children are characterized by independent explorer, who loves to decide which part of proficiencies they would like to dive deeper into. Proposing ideas to strive more to achieve more, will inevitably lose children ’s true potential in performing their genuine competencies. Another factor that may take into consideration is the probability of failure in any trial as they should divide focus into several activities. Thus, providing children with such narration will construct substantial limitations on their improvement progress. In conclusion, there are two sides to the coin in capturing the issue of telling children to reach more through enforcing extra work. Some people agree that this method will create more chances for their futures, while others disagree as the negative factors would restrict children ’s development.