Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

Using of lots of non-biodegradable products like plastic, polythene, and other synthetic materials cause environmental pollution, especially in land and water sources. Not only plastic shopping bags but also various other plastic products to illustrate fishing nets, plastic bottles, containers, and food packaging. I believe that these products should be eradicated from society to protect nature which supports all species to survive. This essay will provide information to strengthen the above idea in detail. To begin with, plastic is a by-product of the manufacturing process of petroleum which is the main material for fuel. Because of that, it can be produced for a very low cost and it is also contained with different possibilities such as moulding, extruding, or pressing into solid objects. This adaptability along with other wide range of properties, for instance, lightweight, durability, flexibility, and inexpensive production has led to its widespread. As an example, 9 billion tonnes of plastic has been produced during the time period 1950-2017. And it was 400 million tonnes in 2020. Therefore, statistics predict that it will double in amount by 2050 according to the rate of using plastic at the moment. However, this rapid spreading of plastics has started filling lands and water resources due to the bad habits of human beings. Since there is no proper disposing method, people used to throw away these used plastic items to the soil and water bodies. This causes lots of environmental haphazard by damaging birds, aquatic species, land-based animals, and sea animals. When plastic spreads through the water, it is divided into small particles by water waves. These particles can be found in the digestive systems of sea creatures. Not only the sea animals but also, the land-based species, for instance, elephants, tigers, hyenas, and cattle when swallowing plastic shopping bags, died due to that. For example, the abandoned fishing nets contribute to the extinction of endogenous species like blue whales, dolphins, and sea turtles. In conclusion, I totally agree that there should be a method to ban these plastic -based products on behalf of environmental protection.