More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

With the development of the "brand awareness," people nowadays start to purchase products from large and famous manufacturers. In the following contents, reasons why the phenomenon exists and personal opinion - the trend is positive - will be illustrated and analyzed. Based on the perspective of economy, it is reasonable for people not to buy things from microbusinesses which are identified as giffen goods. With the development of the national economy, income is increased, which means that the power of consumption has enhanced. Therefore, substitution effect occurs. Consumers start to abandon cheap products, and begin to purchase products from large brands. Moreover, endowment effect also causes this situation. A stereotype, or bias, that make people originally believe that items from large manufacturers are better. For instance, in the automobile market, with the assumption that each individual has enough money to buy everything they want, they prefer Audi instead of Ford since the latter one is less famous. However, the truth is that qualities of Ford cars are better than those of Audi. I would like to comment this phenomenon as a advantageous trend. It is the representation that publics are capable of obtaining better living conditions and aquire the financially freedom of choosing various goods. In addition, this is also a way to enable the market to be more competitive. Suppliers have to improve their products or lower the prices to attract enough consumers to keep profitable; hence, it benefits customers. In conclusion, what lead to the phenomenon are the development of economy and the endowment effect of popular brands. There is a positive trend since it is the symbol of economic well-being, better living conditions, and the existance of better products.