Nowadays governments are investing more in public transport such as buses and trains rather than in building new roads. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a growing tendency that high positions tend to spend more money on public transportation instead of new road infrastructure. I strongly believe that this is the right strategy. In this essay, I will explain the reasons why I hold this viewpoint. With population growth and traffic jams are getting bigger local authorities started to explore other solutions than just building new roads to reduce traffic and financing public transport is one of them. Firstly, creating new road directions might not be always possible due to certain city conditions. For example, in order to build you have to destroy something and in this case it could be residential houses, schools and libraries. Secondly, building new roads could be extremely expensive and time-consuming. Therefore, governments will expand a large amounts of currencies on this and works could take years to be completed and the outcome might not be as always as expected. In contrast, there are some positive sides to developing public transportation. First of all, it will help to reduce movement on the streets. Consequently, there will be fewer cars and thus fewer traffic fumes from them and this will drastically reduce the bad impact on our environment. In addition, these developments could be more cost-effective in the long run because if the nation will use more public transport there will be more replenishment in the treasury. Moreover, more buses and trains will create more jobs for people and government can reduce joblessness. In conclusion, it is my opinion that developing public transport is the right direction because it will be beneficial financially and help to keep our environment as clean as possible.