In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the adavantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some parts of the world, taking a year off from school called a gap year is promoted. It is usually when a student just graduated high school and prior to getting a post-secondary education, and during this time, they enter the workforce or take a trip. This essay will discuss how taking a break for a while could enable a student to learn more about oneself and one’s passion, but this can also lead to a loss of momentum for studying. One of the main advantages of having a gap year is that it could be the time when one finds out their true passion. Taking a break from formal schooling can be beneficial if, rather than doing nothing, one would do something productive such as finding a job or travelling. This could lead to self-learning that will enable them to decide what career to pursue and likely stick to it. In fact, due to indecisiveness, it is well known that undergraduates who immediately go to university right after graduating tend to change their major more than once. However, coming out of high school, the excitement about the educational opportunities that await the graduate is usually there, and taking a year off might cause them to lose that momentum. Other than that, they might find the thing they are doing currently too distracting or exciting that they end up not going back to school. For instance, while working and earning enough money, they may feel content and not consider the benefits of getting a degree anymore. In conclusion, although it may bring the risk of having the student not wanting to continue with formal education, a gap year can also lead to students being more decisive about what they want to do with the rest of their lives.