Young people committing crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that under-aged criminals must be punished as adults are. It is a common belief that the statement is agreeable. However, I firmly believe that younger criminals should be punished less strictly than older criminals nowadays due to two reasons, which are not having enough maturity and parental care. First of all, teenagers are not responsible as they are in the process of becoming an adult. This immaturity could lead to an impulsive commitment to crimes. Irresponsibility and lack of education about crime in the school will affect the vulnerability of children’s surroundings, making them do a criminal activity which can be a mistake. For instance, some students sell drugs in their schools because it seems cool and profitable. This shows they will lose opportunities to belong to society if they are punished like adults. Thus, it is unfair since they are not complete people who are forming their solid responsibility to become a member of society. Furthermore, financial difficulties and violations from one’s parents can be the main reasons for youngsters becoming criminals. This explains that punishments must be more flexible for children having such backgrounds. Small crimes such as stealing happen because poor children might simply want to have food. In addition, a physical violation could also occur by children abused by parents since they think it is not problematic. As long as these young criminals go to prison as grown-ups do, they will be adult criminals after their sentences are done, meaning it is a vicious cycle. In order to stop this cycle, it is significant to consider their circumstances and why they inevitably commit crimes. In conclusion, even if youngsters commit crimes, their lack of responsibility and surroundings should be considered when they are handled by authorities, in order to rehabilitate them effectively.