Mobile phones and the Internet have made it easy to stay in contact with other people. However, as a lot of time is spent using telephones and computers, there is less face-to-face contact and direct communication. Is the growing use of communications technology a positive or a negative development for society ?

The time of digitalization has improved all aspects of human life. Especially the way we communicate with each other is not still the same as before, because innovative technologies give people an opportunity to reach somebody from everywhere in the world in a few seconds. But, while we are able to call or message somebody, the amount of personal meetings in our life is decreased. This essay will argue that the benefits of this new way of communication through the Internet or mobile phone offset the drawbacks entailed by this state of affairs. First of all, the possibility to communicate without personal contact saves people a lot of resources. For instance, their working time or money can be invested in further technology development instead of a travelling to formal meetings. Therefore, through the replacement of face-to-face conferences with internet calls or messaging all workers can reduce the consumption of natural sources needed for a journey. Furthermore, the Internet and mobile phones make it easy to have a friendship with somebody who lives in another country. Although there are many people who prefer to spend time messaging or playing on a phone, real friendship couldn't be disturbed through this new way of communication, because best friends will never lose the opportunity to meet with each other. In conclusion, it is clear, that using the Internet and mobile phones is beneficial for society and makes a significant contribution to the convenience of our daily life. On balance, I recommend everybody to invest his knowledge and time in innovation because only all together we can improve our future.