Life has become much more stressful compared to our parent’s generation. As a result, stress-related illnesses are increasing around the world. What are the causes of stress among young adults and what do you think can be done to overcome this problem?

Stress levels among young people have increased tremendously over the years. When our parents were young, they did not experience as much stress as we face today. Consequently, it impacts negatively on their health and wellbeing. While there are several causes of stress, some measures can be taken to alleviate it. Work -life imbalance and the unrealistic prospects are the major sources of stress. First, work has become more demanding than ever. For example, it is not uncommon for workers to find themselves snowed under workloads, so many of them stay up late to meet deadlines, increase productivity, or forge their careers. As a result, the time for rest, leisure, and other activities is compromised. Second, the expectations that parents have placed on millennials and gen Z are heavier than the expectations from former generations. Second, parents, these days expect too much from their children. In other words, they are prepared for success in performing well at school and excelling at work. The fear of not living up to these hopes clearly imposes an extra burden upon the youth. Several courses of action can possibly tackle this situation. In the first place, it is for the government to launch a nationwide campaign to raise awareness of the prevalence of stress and its detrimental impact on the rising generation. At the same time, it is essential to provide counselling and treatment services for those experiencing stress and stress -related illnesses. Another way forward may be for the companies to have policies that encourage work -life balance such as introducing hybrid work arrangements or offering sabbatical. In conclusion, the invasion of work into personal life and unrealistic/great expectations of parents have resulted in enormous stress among young people. However, this situation can be mitigated by getting the government and organizations involved in order to implement a comprehensive plan, which promotes awareness of the problem, prevents, and deals with it.