It is often cited that “Not everything that is learned is contained in books”. According to many, we learn most of the things from our own experience while others believe that books are our main source of knowledge. Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

Knowledge can be described as information and understanding of something and this can be derived through books or over a period of time. Some people believe that it is majorly gained through books rather than practical knowledge. It is agreed that one should be able to learn and gain a better understanding only after applying it practically. Analysing the difficulties driven while applying knowledge gained through reading is overcome by applying prior exposure. On the one hand, it is believed that expertise can be achieved over a span of time while performing it physically. For instance, medical students should always go through vigorous pieces of training along with theoretical lessons till they become doctors. Only gaining lessons through the book could not guide you to diagnose your patient efficiently unless and until they got to know the actual scenarios which would be far different from the theory you read and which could only be known by doing it practically. Therefore experience should considerably be the most important source of knowledge than books. On the other hand, some consider the knowledge gained through lessons taught in classrooms is considerably more important. This is highly based on the fact that one should not be able to perform the task if it was not earlier learned through books. However, for,example automobile mechanic is not supposed to achieve a mechanical engineering degree to repair cars, they can learn their job while performing repairs under an experienced mechanic and still can become efficient in their job. To summarise, performing in a real-time environment will enable you to gain more understanding and guidance rather than just having a degree. Therefore, it is clear that the maximum amount of expertise can be achieved by performing it rather than what we learned through books.