Some people think that children should learn world history. Others believe that it is more important to learn the history of their own country. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

History is one of the foundation subjects in every school in any country. It has been an ongoing discussion, on whether teaching children more about History is one of the foundation subjects in every school in any country. It has been an ongoing discussion, about whether to teach children more about what happened in the past all over the world or focus on the history of the country students live in. I believe that it is equally important to learn about both the history of the world and the homeland. Those who suggest that world history is more valuable have a point. It is general knowledge to remember the discovery of America or why, how, and when was European Union established. Thus, it should be part of the principal education because understanding significant moments in the world `s history offers students details about different cultures, religions, traditions as well as foreign languages. Such understanding can also help people while working or travelling anywhere in the world as they might encounter citizens of various countries. Although, I think that those who learn about world history can benefit in the long-term, the history of own country cannot be ignored. The local history is a pivotal phenomenon in getting familiar with the surrounding. Therefore, it is a natural process to learn about the motherland and its history for many. British pupils, for example, are introduced to critical past events, such as how Britain achieved their independence and a dominant position in the world economy. This way, youth will gain respect as well as admiration for the invaluable assets and freedom Britain has thanks to those who fought for this country. I am convinced that the history of the motherland should be taught at school as school-aged children are provided with detailed information about their history, culture and customs which is a piece of a bigger picture called the world. To conclude, I believe that educating people about world history is as crucial as teaching them about how their native country was established and developed. While general knowledge about the world `s historical moments can help people during their travels abroad, the knowledge of local history makes students cherish and be proud of their country and its key figures from the past.