Some people believe it is better to study subjects that have practical applications. Others, however, think it is better to study subjects that are theoretical. Discuss both views.

It is believed by some people that learning subjects that have practical applications are better, while others oppose this and claim theoretical subjects are more beneficial. This essay will elucidate both views, and explain why I believe that learning subjects with practical applications are far more advantageous. There are those who feel that theoretical studies are better mainly due to the fact that it is straightforward to learn. Indeed, subjects such as biology and social science are not only less complicated to understand but also require less time to study. Another convincing point to learning theory-based courses is that students have the option to study remotely. If this option is open, then more and more students, especially from remote areas, would enrol on this type of course. Others, including myself, believe that learning subjects with practicality have more merits. This is mainly because there are a lot of job opportunities available in this particular area. This will promise a better future for the students, even though the subjects are difficult to learn, and requires a lot of effort. Another positive of learning practical subjects is that it has group assignments which would help students develop other interpersonal skills. Normally, in a university, assignments are given to a team, and each member has to work on the task allocated which involves a lot of communication in order to effectively complete. Having developed these skills, students find it easier to secure jobs as companies are not only looking for academic knowledge, but also for social skills. In conclusion, in my opinion, learning practical subjects not only has wider job opportunities, but also helps in acquiring other personal skills, although theory-based subjects are easier to learn, and provide the option to study remotely.