in some cultures,children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. what are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is not uncommon to see parents telling their children that they should be working hard to achieve success. On the face of it, this seems like a very positive message being sent to children, but is there a downside to this? That everything is achievable should one work hard enough is not essentially irrelevant. Diligence is no doubt one determining factor in success. Children, like anyone else, are likely to show a tendency for indolence and lose their enthusiasm at times. In such circumstances, a gentle reminder bringing to their attention the importance of hard work can go a long way and can help them to get back on the right track. It is true that intrinsic motivation is essential; nevertheless, children need to hear the pep talk from their parents from time to time to keep up the good work. However, it should also be borne in mind that the message in question suggests that hard work always equals success, but this is not always the case – not in the real world. Sometimes success eludes us no matter how hard we try. This is because there is a host of other factors at play in achieving what we aim for. Children sometimes fail to achieve what they want in spite of the efforts made; if parents continually highlight the importance of hard work as the main key to success, children are likely to feel undue pressure in the event of failure, thinking that there is something wrong with them; this can even adversely affect their self-esteem and self-image. In short, it is important that children be reminded of the importance of hard work on occasion, although this needs to be done tactfully so as to avoid the potential negative psychological effects.