Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. Do you agree oor disagree?

With the popularity of electronic devices progressively increasing, there are many concerns about their adverse influences on individuals. One of them is whether depending highly on them to communicate will impair people's writing and reading skills. In my view, on the one hand, this concern is not without reasons; on the other hand, it should not be disproportionately emphasised. First, people cannot escape the reality that the increasing reliance on electronic devices in communication is impairing individuals' literary skills. This has been demonstrated by research conducted by the Modern Language Association(MLA), a think tank in the USA, that currently, people are increasingly dependent on "stickers" in daily conversations to convey their emotions. In other words, they are losing the ability to express themselves in words, which should have been a fundamental competence in a democratic nation like the USA, where people need to expound their feelings and opinions when arguing for their own rights. This phenomenon has reasonably raised the common concern that the degeneration of literary skills brought by electronic devices is undermining the country's political cornerstones. Although the worry sounds plausible, adhering to this kind of technology conservatism is not conducive to stepping out of the dilemma that we need to use electronic devices in daily communication, while the side-effect of the usage is jeopardising people's writing and reading skills, and even the foundation of a representative nation. Therefore, perhaps we should forsake the preconception that the writing and reading skills that originate from the paper age are superior to the expressive approaches deriving from the net age. A Harvard researcher, David Thomas, has claimed that what matters is whether we clearly deliver our ideas, not with certain carriers. In light of this, the preference for literary skills is more of an ungrounded obsession with habits. In summary, from my perspective, the usage of electronic devices is indeed impairing people's writing and reading skills. However, I am inclined to view this as a necessary progress in exploring new efficient communication skills in a net age, and therefore people need not constantly lament the loss of writing and reading skills.