Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is proven that non-biodegradable products are very negative for the natural environment. The highly plastic waste has polluted cities, the countryside and the oceans. As a result of this, some people would argue that plastic shopping bags should be lessened. As far as I am concerned, if this is prohibited, it will enable us to save the earth. First of all, plastic -based products are a manufacturing process of petroleum, which is the main material for fuel. For this reason, these are produced at an extremely low cost, which contributed to widespread. For example, 9 billion tonnes of plastic has been produced during the time period 1950-2017. Moreover, it was 400 million tonnes in 2020. Therefore, statistics predict that it will double in amount by 2050 according to the rate of using plastic at the moment. In addition, if the government banned shopping bags, it will result in a significant reduction of waste that goes to the oceans. For instance, the state of Queensland in Australia banned free plastic bags from shops in 2018. As a result of this action, the consumption of plastic drastically reduced by 40% from the same period in 2016. Hence, it is the council’s responsibility to ensure that the consumption of plastic is being diminished. To conclude, from the arguments presented above, It is inconceivable not to understand that plastic -free is paramount to the preservation of species and nature. Despite the fact of some other individuals do not believe in sustainability, I believe that it is invaluable the method of ban these plastic -based products on behalf of environmental protection.