People should follow the local customs and traditions, when they come to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often believed that practicing local customs and traditions are essential when residing in a new country. I completely agree with this opinion and this essay is going to discuss why it is important for new residents of a country to follow the customs and tradition of the land. First of all, I believe practicing the customs and traditions of a new area as a stranger is beneficial as it fosters good relationship and acceptance from the inhabitants. Societies are usually noted for their rich tradition and if someone from a different land develops an interest in them they tend to love and see them as one of their own. For instance if the Europeans visit Africa and wear the local and traditional regalia of the land, it is usually appreciated and they receive laudable remarks for such actions. Secondly, observance of the way of life of the group of people in which you find yourself helps one to settle in faster and mingle well with the indigenes this will result in being able to work with the inhabitants. For example foreigners in every country are expected to adhere to the rules and laws of the land and also obtain required permits before they are allowed to work. In conclusion, I think it is very prudent for foreigners to make a conscious effort to practice customs and traditions of the land in which they are residing to help build a good relationship and make it easier to work with indigenes.