Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether parents should permit the youngsters to decide their daily matters around them has caused a heated debate. Some people think that children will be selfish in the future if they have decisions on everything on their own. In my opinion, I think the advantages of making own decisions overweigh the disadvantages, we should encourage and teach children to be independent. It is significant that youngsters can form good personalities like independence, confidence, and strong will if they make decisions at young ages. Deciding the things like eating, clothing, and activities will improve their abilities to distinguish right and wrong and think critically. Meanwhile, if they can choose what they truly want and are interested in, juveniles can easily decide what career and occupation to develop, which declines their anxiety about choosing in the future. Furthermore, it is also true that parents should pay more instructions to the child, avoiding a child from becoming a selfish individual without social responsibility. Without the instructions and teaching from the schools and families, people can not develop good habits and will be isolated from the community with no care about the surrounding environment. For instance, when children are at a young age, families can arrange them to join some social activities and voluntary work in the community. In this way, we can raise their awareness of being a member of society, and improve the caring movements for others who need help. In conclusion, allowing young people to choose on their own is beneficial to them, and the pros overweigh the cons. What's more, we should also focus on their education to them, and cultivate them to be independent and confident persons with social responsibility.