Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport.However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of the bicycle among wider population?

Nowadays, humans dispose of many ways of transport they could choose from. While cars are the most popular, bicycles are not commonly used even if it's a healthy and environmentally friendly option. So what are the reasons behind this phenomenon and what solutions could be applied to increase the rate of their usage among the population? There are multiple explanations behind the unpopularity of cycling. First of all, even if bicycles are a good mode of transportation but it is not the fastest choice compared to others such as cars or buses, making employees and active workers shift towards these last two options. Secondly, this eco-friendly tool might not be safe in busy cities, like Casablanca or Mumbai for example, as there are no dedicated roads for bikes, which puts the person at a higher risk of accidents and injuries. What could be done to encourage the usage of bicycles among people? The government should build special pavements dedicated to cycling, not only in parks but on public roads as well, assuring the safety of bikers first. Moreover, teaching the community the benefits of lowering the usage of cars and opting for the eco-friendly option, not only for the global pollution rate but also for physical health, might as well encourage them to choose cycles. In addition to that, parents should teach their kids about the importance of preserving the earth from pollution by choosing ecological transportation and make them learn how to ride bikes from an early age. To summarize, it is important to implement cycling into society's routine, switching their mode of transport gradually as it represents a more sustainable choice for preserving our earth for future generations.