More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The fauna’s survival is being threatened as the population of a crucial number of untamed creatures is decreasing dramatically. While this is mainly caused by the destruction of their habitat as well as poaching, solutions are possible to implement in order to protect these wild animals. To begin with, the main reason why an increasing number of wild animals are almost extinct or endangered is the continuous destruction of their habitat. For instance, as the wood industry is tearing down a huge amount of forest every year, animals have to adapt to smaller areas, which leads to reduced hunting and feeding space. If food is less available, breeding will be impacted and the population of certain species will decrease. Another reason to explain this phenomenon is poaching. Even though endangered animals are protected against hunting as a way to preserve their population, most of them are very valuable and can bring important income to poachers. Due to their ivory, elephants are a tragic example of endangered animals killed for profits. Although these problems are serious, many solutions can be taken to limit their impact and assist the fauna flourish again. One of the solutions is to increase the security against poachers around the habitat of endangered animals. While it is impossible to cover the entire habitat of a species, security could be deployed around specific areas and times of the year where the animals are more vulnerable, for instance, during the breeding season. Another solution is the creation of protected areas. Governments need to engage in raising the number of national parks where no industry is allowed. In conclusion, increasing the security against poachers as well as the number of protected areas are effective methods to limit the decline in wild animals. If governments implemented these solutions, fauna would once again flourish.