In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasis that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, companies tend to state that their businesses are the latest ones, in order to attract public excitement to purchasing their products. Although, some people assume that the strategy is over-claim I believe that this method would highlight the company's profits. To begin with, the market competitiveness has forced the business owners to become innovative in grabbing customers' desire to engage in transactions. Consequently, a series of strategies need to be implemented as a value proposition for the company.Quoting a statement that the launched product is the new one that ever existed, would cultivate an image as a ‘ business pioneer’. Thus, the word affirmation given would eventually be shaping public perspectives on the respective business. Take an example of the brand new hotel in Jakarta that provides the first six-star hotel experience in Indonesia. The unique identity that they offer as the market leader in the hospitality field succeeded to attain public awareness to explore and book a room. Emphasis on the company's position as the new one in certain business sectors has proved fruitfulness to obtain further benefits. In addition, the declaration of being the new one in the business should be provided with concrete evidence. Publishing the concept of having a new product should not turn into an empty campaign because it may threaten company reputations. This condition occurred with the big cola brand, they claimed that their soda business was the number one soft drink product in Indonesia, meanwhile the fact showed a contradiction, where coca-cola was still on the top list compared to the other competitors. As a result, the public started to perform a black campaign by looking at the weaknesses of the brand and revealing them in the media. Considering this situation, it is hugely important for each business to be mindful in proclaiming their products. To conclude, it is crystal clear that stating innovation will create numerous advantages in a business's development, but there are some notes to be taken as a matter of company reputation.