In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Driverless vehicles have been advancing at an accelerated rate in a multitude of arenas and it has been exerting profound influence on the way we travel. Some people predict that the only people inside vehicles will be passengers in the future. I personally think the advantages far outweigh disadvantages. Driverless vehicles trend facilitates human daily life in most scenarios. For people who are regarded as driver roles, remove the need for driving cars, buses and trucks helps them save a large amount of time. During the traveling process, they can do some valuable things, including enjoying family time, finishing urgent tasks, learning new skills and so on, rather than tedious long-hour driving. For people who lack ability to drive, such as disabled people, oldly adults and younger teenagers, driverless vehicles provide them with a more convenient life. Utilizing driverless cars properly, they will excel at routine tasks and explore the world without the help of others. At the same time, the application of driverless technology also helps resolve some enduring traffic issues. Driverless cars, buses and trucks play an important role in reducing the probability of road accidents. A large proportion of traffic accidents result from human error. For example, even the smallest amount of alcohol in the blood can impair a person’s driving ability, which may cause bodily harm or dearth. Compared to emotional human drivers, the artificial intelligence which is designed to guide the vehicles is prone to be rational and logical. The driving behaviour of the artificial intelligence is based on analysis and calculation of a huge amount of information; therefore, it is reliable and help reduce traffic accidents. Moreover, lower traffic -accident rate contributes to less traffic congestion. Robots drivers help passengers arrive their destinations safe and sound. It may be reasonable to make some exceptions and we need to acknowledge the fact that driverless trend brings some negative changes as well. For example, taxi drivers, bus drivers and truck drivers will lose their work after the prevalence of driverless vehicles. Nevertheless, the thriving driverless industry will create a growing number of positions for employees. In conclusion, while I recognise the possible disadvantages of this trend, I consider it to be a positive development overall.