Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the debate on the topic is getting popular whether Government should spend public money on convincing people to eat healthy or to cure ill individuals. I personally consider that both are crucial responsibilities of the Governmental. This essay will discuss why these both duties should be fulfilled by authorities. Firstly, the folks supporting the idea of health awareness campaigns say that such campaigns can induce positive and healthy habits in the lifestyle of the masses which can save them from illness and health problems in long run. Eating healthy meals can save the authorities also put enough budgets into health facilities and in this way public money can be used for other projects as well. Moreover, they argue that policymakers should ban all fast food chain restaurants to save the community from eating junk. For instance, the example of California can be taken in this regard, where such foodstuff was entirely banned as a result of a Government campaign in 2000, and a survey conducted after 10 years revealed an improved well-being condition of the masses. Hence, Government authorities should spend the national budget on awareness activities to change eating habits and adopt a healthy lifestyle. However, the notion of not taking responsibility for the treatment of the ill population is wrong. The policymakers should specify the budget for the health facilities as well. The first reason for it can be the inability of the lower class to bear the fees of hospitals as class segregation is present in almost every nation so, it is the duty of the state owners to help them from public capital. For example, in welfare states like Germany, free medical treatment is available to everyone. Besides this, sometimes a patient can have a contagious disease which can become an epidemic later, if not tackled early so such medical conditions should be treated at the first priority. Thus, it is equally important for the policymakers to give medical amenities to their nation. In conclusion, considering all the factors, it can be said that spending money on healthy meal campaigns along with treating ill people is indispensable for a healthy and disease-free nation. I strongly hold the opinion that the state owners should allocate the budget for both of these purposes.