Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree ?

In this day and age, there is a controversial idea heating a debate over the fact that it is better to use money in enhanced ways and motorways than on public means of transport. In my opinion, I consider myself as an objector with this idea. Without a shadow of a doubt, the first way may not be possible in some metropolitans where the investment in transport systems is extremely significant. The only way to revamp the quality of these ways is to expand its width but in those cities the land is not enough for the expansion. Additionally, to have an extension on the road, it needs to demolish old amenities or houses, which often take a lot of time to complete. For example, to construct a highway in VietNam will take nearly a decade to destroy the old conveniences and nearly 5 years to build up this project. Hence, it is irrefutable to note that spending money on roads and motorways is not an effective way. While the barrier of the former way is widely acknowledged, the latter one seems to be more suitable. It is undeniable to see that public transport systems are regularly above or underground the roads and when under construction, it just accounts for the small space in these roads. For instance, to construct a subway above the road, they just need to put barriers in the middle of the road and not affect two sides of the road. Therefore, using money in public transport systems is more possible. In conclusion, it is necessary to spend money on the infrastructure of transport systems, since it should prioritize public ones.