Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

These days, mobile phones have become a trend and most people, even children, tend to spend lots of their day time using their smartphones. I profoundly believe that the Internet is responsible for this phenomenon and we need to control this issue as one of the technology’s disadvantages. To begin with, with the emergence of the internet and improving cellphones’ technologies, they have become one of the most helpful devices that have changed people’s lifestyles. Smartphones that are able to connect to the Internet can be used as individuals’ assistants. They have changed the way people live, educate, shop, etc. Besides, communication as the most important aspect of social life is influenced by modern phones. For instance, all kinds of goods, communication, and information are accessible to everyone in remote parts of the world through the use of smartphones, and children as our modern generation are influenced more than the others. Although modern devices have made daily tasks easier and faster, their negative impacts can not be underestimated. Youngsters are willing to spend their time with their smart gadgets instead of with their family and friend. As a result of this dilemma, young people’s social life is leading to be changed a lot. In other words, the connection between society's members is going to become virtual. Furthermore, children tend to play online games by the use of their mobile phones and are not active anymore. this can increase obesity which is known as a risk to public health. To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments about spending hours a day using smart gadgets and their positive and negative points, I think that although smartphones are useful devices for everyday tasks, the government and parents should be aware of their disadvantages for people, especially on children.