Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

People have different views that which environmental issues are of fundamental importance. While some of them argue that decreasing the number of some specific plants and animals can be considered as the main problem, others believe that there are more different problems. Personally, I do agree with the latest idea and in this essay, I will describe some opinions of both views. To begin with, a number of people think that the loss of particular species is a chronic environmental problem. From their perspective, there are just a limited number of animals and plants in the wildlife that depletion of them may result in their extinction. Hence, this would ruin the balance of the ecosystem. In addition to this, the loss of some plants can lead to deterioration of the vegetation in a region. Vegetation plays a prominent role in facing different natural phenomena. For example, in the case of severe storms, vegetation acts as a deterrent and diminishes the speed of surface runoff and following this it would reduce the rate of soil erosion. In spite of this, there are those, including myself, who subscribe to the view that other environmental crises are much more devastating. Firstly, one of the most important problems in the environment these days is global warming. In fact, this brings about many serious damages such as glaciers disappearance, rising the level of seawater and long droughts. Therefore, it can deplete the water supply which is catastrophic. In addition, nowadays the gas and fume emissions of factories and vehicles have caused air pollution. In fact, air pollution is so destructive that may result in many issues such as acid rain and health issues like breathing diseases. In conclusion, while both the loss of some species and other environmental problems are detrimental under certain circumstances, I strongly hold the view that are crises are more essential such as global warming and air pollution because they seem to cause more destructive problems to the environment.