In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people search this?

In many places around the world, the discovery of the past story of the buildings where people have been residing has increasingly engaged their interest. There are some reasons for this curiosity as well as ways to collect information, as we will see in the following essay. There are many plausible reasons that intrigue homeowners to look into the past of their dwellings, the most important of them are excavation for treasures and a sense of belonging. One reasonable argument for the search for variable objects is that people in the past often hid important items underground to protect them during times of conflict, invasion, or unrest. Therefore, there are high chance that they can find the artefacts and sell them to antique shops at high prices. For example, in Ireland where many residents choose to live close to buildings that date back centuries and wish to establish if there are any valuables buried on their properties. Besides, looking into the past of where they live can instil a sense of belonging and connection to the place. This can be particularly true for those who have lived in their home for many years or inherited it from a family member. There are some viable ways that help householders collect pieces of information about their building’s background. Firstly, they can ask neighbourhoods who have been residing in the vicinity of the community since these locals have witnessed every event, which means they can give some crucial testimonies along with different viewpoints about what happened. Secondly, householders could go on social media such as Facebook and follow pages which are created by the provincially local community of that region so that the residents could get updated with every event. For instance, my uncle happened to know the apartment that he had rented was previously built for tomb burial through one post that was put on 2 months ago. In conclusion, searching for valuable objects and the feelings of being connected are probably two primary reasons for people to look into the history of the buildings, and two of the possible ways are through oral accounts of the locals and social media.