In many countries, people like to eat a wide variety of food that can be grown in other areas. As a result, people eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages

There has been a tendency for consuming food products from foreign areas and nations compared to the local ones. I deem that this trend brings more benefits than pitfalls to our lives. On the one hand, it is understandable why some are against the consumption of foreign food products. They argue that this may lead to an increase in occupational loss. As customers tend to purchase green products that originate from other areas, local ones will make less to no profit, which means low income for farmers, and this forces them to find another job to pay for their living. However, this notion can be solved by adequate exporting policies from the governments. By efficiently exporting high-quality local farming fruits and vegetables to other cities that are in need, both the states and individuals can earn higher profits. On the other hand, there are many merits associated with the increasing consumption of foreign food. Firstly, most imported foods are healthy and nutritious. For example, durian, one of the most favourite fruits among Asians, is only growable in South East Asia countries where the weather is hot and humid, and it is exported to many nations like Australia or America because of its flavours and nutrition. Another advantage is the competitive market. As more food is imported to the country, it will motivate the local business and individuals to produce better food to compete against the foreign ones, which ultimately benefits the customers. In conclusion, with the aforementioned, I believe that purchasing food products from foreign areas is a beneficial trend for the customer.