Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a wast of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. To what extend do you agree with this statement.

There is no doubt governments should invest in public services before any other area. However, I completely disagree with the given statement. I believe investment in fields such as art, music and theatre, is fundamental to a prosperous community. Firstly, if the estate would not use the taxpayer money to aid the aforementioned activities, there would be no cultural background to pass on to future generations. For instance, institutions such as museums, art galleries and music venues would not be able to operate without help from public funds. It is in these facilities that many aspects of the world's culture are widespread in the minds of the younger individuals, therefore the loss of such necessary arts would prove extremely detrimental to future existential developments. Secondly, it is commonly known that the art industry contributes greatly to a nation's overall income. For example, events like music concerts, movie premieres, and artistic public displays are known to generate high cash flows, which at least 30% of goes straight to the tax commission. Not to mention the number of job opportunities that these activities create for workers related to those fields. Society will always benefit from contributing to the arts and therefore it should always remain to do so. To conclude, is it fair to say taxpayer money should definitely be properly invested, however cultural and artistic areas should also be considered a priority on the government's agenda.