There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of having small family rather than a large family?

From ancient times it was popular to have a large family consisting of three to eight children simultaneously. However, nowadays, the new trend of small families appeared and this trend is spreading worldwide. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than one big. To begin with, it is obvious that families will spend much less money to provide their children with food, education, entertainment and other necessary stuff. A major part of the families decides to have fewer children because of the economical stability and comparing money expenditures between big and small families. It will affect not only to parents' budget but also the child's abundance. To illustrate, if there were four children who required personal laptops, it would be difficult to provide them all with a PC. The second advantage is that children will get full of attention from their parents, moreover, it will be easier to bring up one kid as opposed to four or even seven kids. The concentration of attention is fixated on one, which positively affects his future personality. Briefly, having a small family has advantages, such as the relatively easy provision of attention and things to the child. On the other hand, having only one child means the absence of brothers and sisters which will negatively impact socialization. At the age of six and more, the level of interest to play with parents will significantly decrease, hence, it is important for the kid to have a brother or sister. It plays a vital role not only in terms of boredom but also in communication with others and the formation of the personality. For example, a lot of single children say that friends can not replace and compensate for the remaining place of the sibling; that means they missed it. In conclusion, this essay discussed that having a small family reduces the cost of money and makes it easier for upbringing, but children may not have a brother or sister, which also plays a significant role in upbringing and personality.