Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

More and more patients have been choosing non-conventional medicines and therapies rather than mainstream medical practice. While the former could have effectiveness in some cases, I believe that this trend would do more harm than good. There are several benefits of using alternative medicines and treatments. First and foremost, some forms of non-conventional medical practices have existed for hundreds or even thousands of years. Their efficiency has been proven by reality and experience of many previous generations. Yoga and acupuncture are the typical examples of approaches which help many people resolve chronic heath problems. Furthermore, these methods are quite affordable for local people and consistent with their culture. Another advantage is that since ingredients of alternative medicines are primarily natural herbals, they might be better for human’s body than manufactured drug. Nevertheless, the use of non-conventional medicines could have negative impacts on patients. Firstly, unlike standard medicines, majority of alternative medicinal methods do not have scientific evidence to support their effectiveness or undergo rigorous research to prove their safety. Therefore, many people using alternative medicine are not advised carefully about side effects and risks for their heath. Another problem is that neither regulation nor standard is established to control the implementation of non-conventional medical practices. For instance, natural medicines are not analyzed the accurate proportion of ingredients and can contain harmful substances, which causes drug interaction and poison at the wrong dosage. Likewise, it is difficult to ensure the practitioners of alternative medicines have enough qualifications or are well- trained. Thus, not only do patients waste their money for nothing but their physical and mental also are in danger. In conclusion, from my perspective, it is a negative development if people with heath issues choose alternative medicines or treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. They should try non-conventional medicines only after consulting medicinal professionals.