Discuss the arguments for and against raising pets.

In recent years, keeping and nurturing companion animals has drawn public attention and sparked controversies. Although the benefits of this practice are proven, its negative effects should be taken into account. On the one hand, pets are well-known for their playfulness and are assumed to have positive effects on their owners’ health. Nowadays, people tend to live apart from families for career and educational reasons and adopting a pet is advisable due to the multiple benefits it provides; in other words, it can be deemed a mental therapy. For example, it enhances the quality of the owners’ life, alleviates stress, and blood pressure as well as becomes a solution to isolation and solitude, which is characteristic of the pandemic. In addition, pets themselves may receive attention, care and love in return. Hence, there is no point in overlooking the undeniable desired impacts of this activity. On the other hand, there is no guarantee that all companion animals live happily with their owners. In fact, ignorance of basic needs such as space, exercise or contact with members of the same species has become a pervasive problem that may cause adverse effects upon animals ' health. Moreover, it should be acknowledged that pets are being kept for inappropriate reasons. For instance, they could be possessed simply as a manifestation of the wealth and status of the owners who have no affection for them. As a consequence, they may not be cherished and are likely to be mistreated or even killed once the owners lose interest. In conclusion, keeping and raising animals is simultaneously beneficial for humans and pets themselves. Notwithstanding, it is crucial to take into consideration its negative sides in order to protect and assure wellness and benefits for both sides.