Government should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The public always indicates that government should issue mandates to make individuals responsible for protecting the environment. However, in my opinion, it would be more beneficial if both the country's authorities and residents share the responsibilities. To residents, they have the main responsibilities to protect the environment. They know that if they want a pleasant environment to live in, they must not litter the trash and should do recycling which would decrease the environmental contamination. Also, turning off the power of electronic appliances which is not in use is another vital implement to save energy. Moreover, people who live in the same communities have to clean up and sustain the pleasant living areas together. For example, they can arrange routine cleaning community activities. This not only benefits to the environment and it is useful for residents to build up the relationships. On the other hand, governments need to play a pivotal role in setting legislation to mitigate environmental problems, such as air pollution. To illustrate, the government impose the monetary fines on some factories that release industrial waste.Another implementation the governments need to do is provide some educational signs or programs to let educate citizens. This can strengthen their basic understanding of environmental protection and encourage them to participate in some activities which is helpful for the surroundings. In conclusion, the government don't have to take the main responsibility to protect the environment. But they have to do some support in order to maintain the basic level of environment and hope that can encourage residents to contribute a more beautiful community by themselves.